Mouth Matters

Mouth Matters seeks to promote oral health within the prison system.

Introduction

Mouth Matters is an evidence-informed oral health promotion resource. It has been compiled under expert guidance and is designed to enable health professionals, prison staff and support workers to meet the specific oral health needs of offender populations in Scotland. Its overall purpose is to raise awareness of the key factors that affect oral health and provide core motivational interviewing skills that can be used to support an oral health brief intervention tailored to offenders.

Health Board Leads

Ayrshire & Arran:

Hazel Andrew 

hazel.andrew@aapct.scot.nhs.uk    

01292 513999

Forth Valley:

Evelyn Kidd

evelyn.kidd@nhs.scot

01324 624000 (ext 3934)

Greater Glasgow & Clyde:  

Margaret Munro

margaret.munro@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

0141 531 6604

Anne Muir

anne.muir@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

0141 531 8930

Lothian:

Moira Haston

moira.haston@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

01968 671522

Dumfries & Galloway:

Julie Hunter

julie.hunter3@nhs.scot

01387 244036

Grampian:

Karen Tosh

k.tosh@nhs.scot

01224 558524

Highland:

Kirstin Edmiston

kirstin.edmiston@nhs.scot

01463 253665

Lanarkshire:

Brenda Hendren

brenda.hendren@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

01236 707711

Tayside:

Carrie Phillips

carriephillips@nhs.net

01382 432060