Smile4life

Better oral care for homeless people 

Introduction

Welcome to Smile4Life information. 

Smile4Life Oral Health Improvement is for Health and Social Care professionals, including Third Sector Organisations who are interested in improving oral health of homelsss people through delivering training to staff working directly with people experiencing homlessness.

If you have any suggestions or wish to contact us please do so via:

reducing.inequalities@nes.scot.nhs.uk

 

 

Health Board Leads

Ayrshire and Arran covering North Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire

Suzanne Algeo

suzanne.algeo@aapct.scot.nhs.uk 01292 513218

Dumfries and Galloway 

To be confirmed

 

Forth Valley covering: Falkirk, Clackmannanshire, Stirling

Evelyn Kidd 

evelyn.kidd@nhs.scot

01324 624000 ext 3934

Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Margaret Munro

margaret.munro@ggc.scot.nhs.uk 07580343594

Lanarkshire covering North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire

Susan Lyttle

susan.lyttle2@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk 0786 174 0461

Lothian covering City of Edinburgh, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian

Moira Haston

Moira.Haston@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Shetland

To be confirmed

 

Western Isles

To be confirmed

Borders covering Scottish Borders

Aileen Richardson

aileen.richardson@borders.scot.nhs.uk                      01896 824546

Fife covering Fife

Sharon Carruthers

sharoncarruthers@nhs.net 01592 226574

Grampian covering Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire                                                                          

Karen Tosh

k.tosh@nhs.scot 01224 558524

Highland covering Argyll and Bute 

Margaret Morrison

margaretmorrison@nhs.scot 01436 655133

Highland covering North Highland

Jane Ingleby

jane.ingleby@nhs.scot 01955 609945

Highland covering Mid and West Highland

Miranda Moodie

miranda.moodie@nhs.scot 01349 817122

Highland covering South Highland

To be confirmed

Orkney

To be confirmed

Tayside

Donna Kirk

donna.kirk@nhs.scot 01382 432062

Homeless organisations

Click on the images below to find out more about the organisations

Research by Dundee University

Research has been an integral part of the Smile4life programme since it was established in 2007.  The following year there was a large Scotland-wide survey of the oral health and psychosocial wellbeing of people experiencing homelessness – the findings from this survey informed the development of the Smile4life: Guide for Trainers. 

Following the launch of this training package in 2012, two evaluations were conducted: one to investigate the extent of Smile4life implementation in the participating NHS Boards; the second to investigate the benefits of Smile4life training for practitioners and the benefits of the Smile4life intervention for people experiencing homelessness. 

Find out about the current research by clicking the Smile4Life image.

Click below for the latest publication on Multi-agency collaboration 

People's Stories
Case Studies